Change management ITSM essentials

by Paul Kesler

Wondering what ITSM change management or IT change management is? When it comes to IT service management, change management ITSM is a discipline aimed at standardizing processes and methods for efficiently dealing with changes to control IT infrastructure. This helps to reduce the occurrences and impact of service-related incidents.  Here’s what you need to know about ITSM  and change management .

Issues or other internal and external requirements like legislative changes or service improvement initiatives can trigger the need for infrastructure changes. When these triggers occur, change management can ensure standardized methods, processes, and procedures help to facilitate efficient and timely handling of all changes and maintain the right balance between the need for change and the potential detrimental impact of changes.

When it comes to IT change management, below you will find practical definitions for participant roles, types of changes, and risk levels used by many organizations when establishing an ITSM process at the enterprise level.

Roles and responsibilities

Types of changes

requested change management roles includes details unauthorized changes typically created itil process change approval itil process problem management change proposals service transition service lifecycle human aspects data center efficient manner restore service practice framework it practice new data center business requirements registered trade mark it services risk assessment emergency change advisory board cab management interfaces creating tasks operational efficiency release management incident management existing service meet end user expectations identical working router change record risk management managing existing relevant data configuration management system service desk service change request for change desk change control post implementation review proposed change request for change rfc service strategy security patch continuity management change schedule business risk forward schedule formal change evaluation high risk pre approved key performance indicators change implementation team change models it department change management benefits change proposal direct or indirect effect formal change management proposed itsm change management normal change service availability change emergency change evaluation report efficient and prompt handling itil change management process business operations configuration management normal changes it infrastructure it organization emergency changes emergency changes change manager change process configuration management cab emergency change change management process change management process change management process itil change management itil change management
All changes must have a type defined based on a standard categorization defined by the business based on the overall potential impact. Coupled then with a risk descriptor the organization is then able to determine an overall risk profile.
  • Standard – Low impact, most often these are frequent changes that experienced implementors execute without fail. These could potentially be pre-approved with no additional approvers required.
  • Normal – Changes that must follow a typical change review/approval process in full, including all documentation, risk analysis, scheduling, and approvals. Most changes fall within this category.
  • Exceptions – A change that is not able to follow the regular process due to the nature of the change. These are typically urgent in nature that must be expedited or implemented off-cycle.
  • Emergency – A change that is initiated in response to an incident and must be implemented immediately to avoid a production outage.
  • Unauthorized – Used to document specific after the fact changes that are implemented without any approval process. These changes are used for audit tracking procedures.

Risk descriptor levels

  • Very high – Is the highest level risk with the potential to severely disrupt the business if experienced, can result in the loss of revenue and customers likely.
  • High – These risks are disruptive to the organization, and customer awareness likely.
  • Medium – These risks could be disruptive to the customers, they might become aware.
  • Low – The impact of low-level risks is limited to non-essential, non-customer-facing applications.
  • Very low – These risks have minimal impact if any.

Final thoughts

A solid change management process is required for any organization looking to safeguard their systems, people, and processes from unexpected disruptions. Customers and clients expect systems to be available almost 24/7 365 days so having a process for your organization to follow is the best insurance policy to guard against avoidable mistakes or errors when maintaining or upgrading existing platforms.

FAQs about Change management ITSM

Why is change management important in ITSM?

Change management is important in ITSM because it ensures standardized methods, processes, and procedures that facilitate efficient and timely handling of all changes. This helps maintain the right balance between the need for change and the potential detrimental impact of changes, reducing the occurrence and impact of service-related incidents.

What are the different types of changes in ITSM?

The different types of changes in ITSM include standard changes, normal changes, exceptions, emergency changes, and unauthorized changes.

What are the different roles in ITSM change management?

The different roles in ITSM change management include the change requestor, change reviewer, change manager, change approver, and change implementer.

What is the risk descriptor level in ITSM change management?

The risk descriptor level in ITSM change management is a categorization that defines the overall potential impact of a change. This helps the organization determine the overall risk profile and prioritize changes accordingly. The risk descriptor levels include very high, high, medium, low, and very low.

Similar Content:

You may also like